Video: Diagnosis Wenckebach (with lyrics)

J. first saw this video when on elective in Canada during April 2007. Those crazy students from the University of Alberta!

Wenckebach periodicity (Second degree heart block Mobitz Type I) is characterised by progressively lengthening PR intervals for several heartbeats until a beat is missed (i.e. a P wave has no following QRS complex), then the cycle repeats from the shortest PR interval. It’s almost always benign and does not require treatment. It’s normally noted in the rhythm lead of which the most commonly used is Lead II.

Atropine, given in the dosage of 0.6mg (to a maximum of 2.4mg) every 3-5 min is used to treat symptomatic bradycardia. A one-off dose of 2.4mg atropine is used in asystole.

Diagnosis Wenckebach

Here are the lyrics below.

Diagnosis Wenckebach by Med 2010

[Verse 1]
Diagnosis Wenckebach (What?)
It’s AV nodal block and that’s a fact (yeah)
Take PR interval and lengthen that (yeah)
Brady arrhythmia and heart attack (Oh no!)

Take it to the node!

Oh P wave
My PR interval, they elongate
The QRS gets missed oh what a shame
I think the AV block in me’s to blame

[Chorus]
Take some more recordings!

Check lead II (AV type I Mobitz)
What you gonna do? (AV type I Mobitz)
Doctors don’t hurt me please (AV type I Mobitz)
I’m walking all threes (AV type I Mobitz)
Show me what you’ll treat me with (AV type I Mobitz)
Restore my rhythm to sinus (AV type I Mobitz)
I don’t really wanna die (AV type I Mobitz)
Please just keep me alive (AV type I Mobitz)
(and)
Get this node going (AV type I Mobitz)
Get this node going (AV type I Mobitz)
Get this node go-iing (AV type I Mobitz)
Get this node going (AV type I Mobitz)
(x2)

[Verse 2]
Diagnosis Wenckebach (lurp)
Ever since we started on this cardiac (yurp)
I’ve turned into a hypochondriac (lurp)
I’m all filled up with those sclerotic plaques (oh no!)

Take it to the node!

Mobitz I
You see those extra P waves are no fun
I need some atropine or else I’m done
You say benign oh no but you’re just dumb.

[Chorus]

[Verse 3]
(You ready?) x 3

Yes I got Wenckebach (That’s correct)
Them other rhythms don’t know how to act (Uh-huh)
Got those group beats you know and that’s a fact (Yup)
Slowing conduction down the AV tract (That’s right)

[Chorus]

4 responses to this post.

  1. […] a las letras, fui incapaz de transcribirlas totalmente, así que conté con la ayuda de otros blogs y una simpática irlandesa (thank you, Caragh!) UAB Emergency Room rap Ka-boom! We’re the UAB […]

    Reply

  2. Posted by ubaid on October 2, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    great video

    Reply

  3. My wife and i ended up being now happy Albert could carry out his reports via the precious recommendations he grabbed using your web page. It’s not at all simplistic just to always be giving away tricks that most people could have been trying to sell. And we discover we’ve got the writer to give thanks to for that. All of the illustrations you have made, the straightforward site menu, the relationships you give support to foster – it is all superb, and it is making our son and our family feel that this concept is entertaining, and that is exceptionally vital. Thanks for everything!

    Reply

  4. demon tattoos ideas,

    Reply

Leave a comment