Egocentric Recruits

One problem with many citizens of the Lion City and in particular the younger residents (including recruits) is their egocentricity.

During J.’s recent stint in the military, he has seen and counselled quite a few recruits who seem to hold the view that their wants (not needs) matter first and that the world owes them a living.

    First recruit

Situation:
Threatened to harm others and themselves and say, “I don’t see the point of serving national service.”, “I wanted to go SCDF, but they put me in army. I cannot take it, very stress.”, “I just want to do something that I am passionate about and have interest in.”, “I don’t know yet what I’m interested in.”

Outcome:
After extensive psychiatric evaluation, found to of sound mind. Sent to detention barracks for threatening platoonmates and superior officers with bodily harm.

    Second recruit

Situation:
Frequently reported sick at the medical centre for trivial conditions. When pressed on possible stressors, expressed that has no financial, relationship, family, platoonmate or training issues. Says, “I just don’t like being told what to do”. Complains that sergeants single him out for treatment, “They find biscuit wrapper in my hand then they confine me”.

J. asked him: it’s unlikely commanders will confine you for a first offence, how many times have you been caught before? The recruit was unable to answer. J. asked him: why did you have a biscuit wrapper in your hand, were you not told that you’re not supposed to eat at certain times? The recruit was unable to answer.

Outcome:
If he had attended training instead of reporting sick all the time, he would have passed out of BMT. Instead, his many weeks in PTP-BMT were not counted due to poor attendence and he has to return for a second stint in BMT.

Rhetorical question: What is wrong with these people? They demand that the world ‘understands’ them and accommodates them while they refuse to make any concessions to help others or to help themselves. Spoilt brats.

-cue girly male voice- (sorry to the actual girls, we recognise that there’s been more than one instance that a female soldier has been best cadet in MOCC) “Oh I have a headache, why don’t my army bunkmates understand that and sayang me, help me carry my field pack, clean my bunk and feed me chicken soup instead of making snide comments about how frequently I’ve been reporting sick”.

“Oh I don’t like the army, it’s so… green. And they shaved off my luscious locks. And I don’t like being told what to do. They should just pay me and give me free food and lodging but allow me to book out whenever I please and not let me do any form of work whatsoever”

This is your first taste of the real world. You think the working world will sayang you? You think that just because your parents mollycoddled you it will continue for the rest of your life?

Wake up! Grow up!

WEAK.

P.S. ‘Sayang’ means love/affection in Malay and is here used in this article as “show love/affection to”.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by MaMa on January 10, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    oh, these does not happen only to recruits. trust me, i have seen many childish excuses as such and worst is that they are coming from adults of 30s and still think that they are right to the max.

    Reply

  2. 30 year olds doing the same thing?

    Gross.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Boxxer Jack on April 3, 2011 at 11:14 am

    Really, these Singaporean army guys are the worst patients. They complain of the slightest physical symptom and blow out their proportions when you obtain their history. What’s wrong with these kids? They even have the gall to post complaints to higher ups when they’re not satisfied with their clinic consult. These guys should be thrown into the war zones right away!

    Reply

  4. Posted by JJ on April 9, 2013 at 7:35 am

    lol authoritarian (and male and chinese) doctors oblivious to their own privilege crying foul about recruits on anonymous blogs. why am i not surprised? maybe you should consider the fact that national service is forced conscription, which is government coercion. enjoy your job while it lasts asshole, and realize that neither your degree or your time in ocs makes you any more noble than the chao keng.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

