Ubuntu 6.10 (Part 2) – Installation

Note: Instead of a technical guide, welcome to a post detailing my process of deciding to install instead of the actual installation.

I couldn’t do it to my main computer.

My current system running on Windows XP SP2 has three partitions: System, Documents and Files, Applications and Games. I could, of course, collapse the partitions but that’d be akin to reformatting my computer.

So I briefly toyed with the idea of reformatting my idea. After all, I had already backed up all my important data from my Western Digital 160GB hard drive to the afore-mentioned Seagate external hard drive.

There is the issue of the syncing of my PDA with the computer. Unfortunately for Ubuntu, Windows Mobile 5.0, being Windows, is designed to sync with Windows (those MS bastards!). So I don’t see myself deleting Windows completely.

Now I’m installing Ubuntu on the old laptop, the one that hasn’t been used for 6 months. If it crashes, it’s no great loss. So let’s see how it goes.

Instructions come from Ubuntu: Ubuntu Documentation

Update: The installation went well. Despite the old hp pavilion ze1110 being terribly slow, it managed to install without a hitch. Currently, I’m trying to get my Linksys USB Wireless Adaptor to work on it, following instructions from: How to install WUSB54G for Dapper Drake. Yes, I’m not using Ubuntu 6.06 (Dapper Drake) but it should be close enough, I hope.

Leave a Reply

